St Michael's and All Angels, Harbledown, Canterbury
St Michael's and All Angels was built about 1160, after the Norman conquest. Much of the original church can still be clearly seen. It was later enlarged during the 13th century and again in 1881. The Church is located in a beautiful rural location in the centre of the village of Harbledown. Today it serves a widespread parish of some 6,000 souls.
A daughter church, St Gabriel's, which serves the area of Rough Common was built about 110 years ago and boasts a small but committed congregation.
St Michael's celebrates within the Anglo-Catholic wing of the church with a modern catholic liturgy (although they retain the BCP for the 8.00am celebration on Sundays).
Resolutions A,B and C have been passed and the church is under the episcopal care of the Bishop of Richborough.
There is a flourishing Sunday School and a large body of young servers. A branch of the Mothers' Union meets regularly and our adult choir eagerly welcomes new recruits.
The Church Hall, a popular venue for wedding receptions, has recently been refurbished.
Holy Communion - Every first and third Sunday at 8:00 AM
Sung Eucharist - Every Sunday at 10:30 AM
Evening Worship - Variable format ;- Evensong, Healing Service, Benediction, Stations of the Cross etc. Every second and fourth Sunday at 5:00 PM
The parish has one full time priest, the Rector of Harbledown, Fr Michael Morris, as well as a number of honorary priests including Fr Don Ruddle, MBE and Fr Michael Anderson.
Fr Michael Morris
Fr Michael (Rector of Harbledown) welcomes Bishop Norman to his first confirmation service at the church.
During the service at St Michael's - Bishop Norman reminded the candidates "The laying on of hands, which you will experience today, goes right back to the Apostles and as such is a great treasure given to the Church.”
St Michael and the Dragon
St Michael's and All Angels has arguably some of the finest stained glass in Kent.
Canon Don Ruddle
Canon Michael Anderson